top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekozainil

First Impressions

Updated: Aug 5, 2018

July 8th


Nate

China is a busy, bustling place filled with people, amazing food and incredible food. I have noticed a lot more of an emphasis on public spaces - people are always out enjoying each other, dancing and practicing ti chi. The food is incredible. No American Chinese food can do it justice. The amount of flavor and variety is baffling, and so far we haven’t had a bad meal. There have been so many views and awesome interactions with people on our trip to Shari-La, and I am very excited to get to our homestays.



Declan

I was pretty nervous and did not know what to expect going into this China trip, particularly because I was just beginning to learn the native language. It has been fast-paced and very exciting to integrate myself in the culture with some good friends alongside me. I have started to drink tea, something I have rarely done before, and it has turned into an every meal practice for me. We have an awesome guide that has taken us to all these beautiful places of cultural importance, while explaining the significance along the way. My favorite stops have been seeing the extreme rapids at Tiger Leaping Gorge, getting close to monkeys at Shi Bao, and the first of impressions of the city Shangri-La. It was great to have my birthday during the first week and we all had a fun time celebrating together, from crazy street-performers singing ‘Happy Birthday’ to a big cake that we couldn’t even finish. Overall, this trip has been a great experience for me to get out of my comfort zone and I am looking forward to the rest of my time here.



Tahg

Getting to China was amazing, however the best part came earlier tonight. Right when we arrived in Shangri-La you could see how special the city was. After we settled into our hotel, we ate dinner, then we went exploring in the old town. The first stop we made was dancing in the quad. We jumped right in and danced for at least an hour. I have never experienced anything so special in my life. Back in America, you can’t say that you get to dance every night as a community in your town. In Shangri-La you do. I never wanted to stop – no one judges anyone else and it is just a way to bring the city together. I’m going to miss the dancing when we have to leave but the memory will be everlasting.



Van

China is absolutely breathtaking. The ancient building and architecture have captured my heart. While strolling down the streets of Dali, Shaxi and Lijiang, I couldn’t help but admire the beauty of the old towns. The two sides of the busy streets were lined with bakeries and bustling shops. I’ve notice that almost everywhere in the towns, the bakeries sells the famous flower pastries, freshly baked. Every town has a unique personality. While Dali and Lijiang were bustling with tourism, Shaxi remained calm and quiet with the exception of the Friday market, which happens once a week. It was an experience while I enjoyed every part of.



Chloe

Wow. I feel like I’ve grown already so much from the time I boarded the plane to sitting here in Shangri-La now. There is so much to learn from every person and already our experiences have pushed me outside my comfort zone. The food is the best I’ve ever had; breakfast is usually my least favorite but now I dream about waking up to a hot bowl of mixian (‘rice threads’) soup! I’m keeping a list of all the new foods I’ve been able to try and places I’ve seen. Some mornings I wake up and my first thought is ‘what the heck, I’m in China!’ Even though we have been traveling for hours a day, the scenery is really something else and it’s exciting to find little victories, like an insane view at a gas station, or a nice bathroom. Another highlight has been laughing with locals when we try to ask a question with our choppy vocab and hand motions. My favorite part so far has been the dancing tonight in the square, with so much energy and unity, along with exploring, getting lost and finding our way around the streets. I’m beyond excited to meet my host family, explore more streets and dance in more squares!



Matt

The first thing I noticed about China were the smells in the towns and cities and the size of the mountains. The views are just amazing and peaceful. Having everyone stare at you was a big unsettling at first, but now I embrace it and take pictures with anyone who asks. The food, people and the overall feel of China are just breathtaking.


Myles

When we first arrived in the Kunming Airport, I instantly noticed the culture and how different it is from the U.S. People were very friendly and helpful which allowed my fellow group members and I to feel comfortable. We began to adventure to different parts of the towns and cities with our guide, Tashi, who has been very helpful in the process. He has taught us many different things about the culture and history of where we have been. As well as teaching us, he has been very fun to be around since he is such an awesome person. I look forward to the next three weeks in the homestays and even more excited to bring the stories and gifts back to my friends and family.


Marshall

China is a lot less crowded than I thought it would be - especially in the cities. Everyone we meet is so nice, however I still find it a little rude when strangers walk up and take pictures of us. It might be acceptable here, but it will still feel weird. All the sites we’ve visited are beautiful and interesting.


Alex

We all knew that we were in uncharted territory when we landed in Guangzhou. Despite the city appearing somewhat Western, it was very disorienting to not be able to read what was posted on walls and billboards. However the cities would pass and we would arrive in Dali. Most notable and impressive was the preservation of old architecture, and more so, how busy Dali was at night despite being in the middle of nowhere. Shaxi was even more impressive as it was appeared to be even older and was tucked away in the mountains. Somehow that town hasn’t been flooded with tourists, foreign and domestic. Lijiang is a really confusing city… As of now, we are in Shangri-La, close to our homestays, absorbing the culture of the small town. Somehow, our friend and guide, Tashi, has managed to design half of the old town.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page